England crowned Six Nations champions after demolishing Scotland at Twickenham – TheLiberal.ie – Our News, Your Views
June 13, 2018

England crowned Six Nations champions after demolishing Scotland at Twickenham

England have been crowned Six Nations champions after they destroyed Scotland 61-21 at Twickenham this evening.

The highly anticipated encounter which was expected to be a close affair was anything but as Eddie Jones’s men ran riot over a Scottish side which looked like a completely different side that defeated Ireland and Wales early on in the championship.

England who are still on course for the all time record for back to back victories took their total to eighteen by scoring seven tries to claim not only the Calcutta Cup but the championship in style.

The game as a whole was all but over by the 35th minute as England ran in for three tries to take a commanding 21-0 lead. Scotland who were a shade of the team that dominated previous outings did manage to get on the board on the 30th minute to reduce the deficit going into the break.

England started the second half with the same blistering pace and added three four more tries to send the Scottish back across the border humiliated.

Scotland did manage to score two more late on but it was mere consolidation as their 34 year wait for a triple crown goes on. England now face Ireland next week in Dublin with the grand slam firmly in their sights.

See scorecard below:

England: 61

Tries: Joseph (3,25,43), Watson (35), Vunipola (57), Care (72,80)
Conversions: Farrell (3,25,35,43,57,72,80)
Penalties: Farrell (7,15,32,47)

Scotland: 21

Tries: Reid (30), Jones (49,69)
Conversions: Russell (30,49,69)

Share this story

Get the latest news from TheLiberal.ie via Facebook.
Just click Like

Tell us what you think on our Facebook page