Most powerful solar flare in over a decade causes widespread radio blackouts – TheLiberal.ie – Our News, Your Views
July 12, 2018

Most powerful solar flare in over a decade causes widespread radio blackouts

The Sun released two gigantic solar flares yesterday, the second of which was the strongest registered in over a decade.

The flares were blasted at 5:10 a.m. EDT (0910 GMT), and at 8:02 a.m. EDT (1202 GMT). The massive energy output collided with the Earth’s atmosphere, causing radio blackouts in the high-frequency spectrum for over an hour.

A solar flare is created when the Sun’s magnetic field experiences a disturbance, resulting in the release of high-energy radiation.

Solar flares are regular occurrences, but yesterday’s event was the strongest since 2006.

Share this story

Get the latest news from TheLiberal.ie via Facebook.
Just click Like

Tell us what you think on our Facebook page